Nigeria is located at the extreme inner corner of the Gulf of Guinea on the west coast of Africa. Nigeria occupies an area of 923,768 sq. km (356,669 sq mi), extending 1,127 km (700 mi) E–W and 1,046 km (650 mi) N–S. Comparatively, the area occupied by Nigeria is slightly more than twice the size of the state of California. It is bordered by Chad on the NE, by Cameroon on the E , by the Atlantic Ocean (Gulf of Guinea) on the S , by Benin (formerly Dahomey) on the W , and by Niger on the NW and N , with a total boundary length of 4,900 km (3,045 mi), of which 853 km (530 mi) is coastline. Nigeria’s capital city, Abuja, is located in the center of the country.

Geographical Location

Geography of Nigeria; Nigeria is a country in West Africa. Nigeria shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Niger in the north. Its coast lies on the Gulf of Guinea in the south and it borders Lake Chad to the northeast. Noted geographical features in Nigeria include the Adamawa highlands, Mambilla Plateau, Jos Plateau, Obudu Plateau, the Niger River, River Benue and Niger Delta.Nigeria is found in the Tropics, where the climate is seasonally damp and very humid. Nigeria is affected by four climate types; these climate types are distinguishable, as one moves from the southern part of Nigeria to the northern part of Nigeria through Nigeria’s middle belt

Temperature of Nigeria

 Nigeria’s location in the tropics has given her a tropical hot climate. Temperatures in Nigeria vary according to the seasons of the year….

Maximum Temperature in Nigeria in Degree Celsius

Rain Fall in Nigeria

The rainy season of Nigeria brings in cooler weather to the country as a result of an increased cloud cover that acts as a blockage to the intense sunshine of the tropics by blocking much of the suns rays in the rainy season; this in turn cools the land, and the winds…

Time Zone

Nigeria Standard Time is 1 hour ahead of Greenwich Mean Time ( GMT+1 ). Nigeria is in West Africa Time Zone….

Nigeria Vegetation

 Nigeria is covered by three types of vegetation: Forests, Savannah, and Montane land. Both the forest zone and the Savannah zone are divided into three parts.

Nigeria Seasons

Nigeria, like the rest of West Africa and other tropical lands, has only two seasons. These are the dry season and the rainy season. The dry season is accompanied by a dust laden air-mass from the Sahara Desert, locally known as Harmattan.

Quick Links

> Ministry of Foreign Affairs
> Nigerian Immigration Service
> Nigerian Customs Service

Quick Links

> Nigerian News Update
> Nigerian Culture and Tourism

Useful Downloads

> Consular ID Card Application Forms
> STR Visa Application Form
> Entry Permit Application Form

Close Menu